About backing up your device content
When backing up device content, it is better to use a USB cable connection instead of Bluetooth, because this makes the backing up run much faster. For more information on connecting via a USB cable, see About connecting your device via a USB cable.
If you have not made a backup for over a month, a reminder is shown in Nokia Ovi Suite Home about the matter. You can start making a backup by clicking the Back up now link.
During the backup, all applications in your device will be closed. For example, if you are listening to music, the player will be closed.
Good to know while you are in the wizard’s content selection window
All content types are selected by default the first time you use the wizard. Then later, the content types are preselected according to the previous times you used the wizard. Content such as your contacts, calendar, and messages are always included in the backup and cannot be deselected.
If you have a memory card inserted in your device, you can decide if you want to back up the selected content from the memory card, too.
Your music tracks’ DRM licences, and your maps and voice guidance files, are not included in the backup. However, you can recover the DRM licences and download your maps and voice guidance files again. For more information, see Recovering music licences after restoration and Downloading maps.
If you want to change where the backup file is saved on the computer, click Browse.
Good to know while you are in the wizard’s backup progress window
To see how the backing up of your device content is progressing, click Show details. You can see which single file or content type (for example, contacts, calendar and notes, messages) is being backed up and what percentage of the file or content type has been backed up.
If you decide to stop the current backup by clicking Stop, the wizard needs to reach a safe point to stop to prevent any device malfunctions. After reaching a safe point, the backup is stopped. It may take a few minutes for the wizard to reach the safe stopping point.
Clicking Start again in the backup stopped window takes you back to the content selection window, and clicking Finish closes the whole backup wizard.
You can also have an automatic backup made of your device content at regular intervals. For more information, see About automatic backing up.
About restoring your device content
Troubleshooting backing up and restoring